1. About us
  2. Executive Board

Executive Board

Prof. Dr. Michael Kneissl | Technische Universität Berlin und Ferdinand-Braun-Institut

Prof. Dr. Michael Kneissl is holder of the chair for Experimental Nanophysics & Photonics at the Institute of Solid State Physics at the Technische Universität Berlin and heads the Joint Lab GaN Optoelectronics at the Ferdinand-Braun-Institute. His main research interests are wide-bandgap semiconductor materials and optoelectronic devices, especially ultraviolet LEDs and laser diodes, and their applications. He holds more than 55 patents in the field of III-nitride device technologies and has published over 400 journal articles in the field of photonics. For his contributions to the development of GaN-based semiconductor laser diodes and UV LEDs, he was elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in 2016.

Prof. Dr. Michael Heuken | Aixtron SE

Prof. Dr. Michael Heuken is Vice President Advanced Technologies of AIXTRON SE, Aachen, and is responsible for innovation management and technology scouting, internationally funded projects and the transfer of new technologies to the market and to customers. His main areas of expertise are semiconductor epitaxy, nanotechnology, electronics and optoelectronics. He is an adjunct professor at RWTH Aachen University. Michael Heuken is author of more than 550 publications and holds several patents in the field of CVD technology. He is an EU expert for his field of work and a stakeholder of the European technology platform Photonics21.

Dr. Martin Straßburg | ams-OSRAM International GmbH

Dr. Martin Strassburg is responsible for innovation and technology cooperation with commercial and university partners at ams OSRAM. In this role, he leads international and national funded projects as well as bilateral research activities ams-OSRAM International GmbH, among others. He has more than 25 years of experience in academic and industrial research and development of opto-electronic materials and devices. He holds numerous patent families in this field (more than 180), has co-authored more than 190 publications on materials development for optoelectronic applications and has given more than 25 invited talks at international conferences, symposia and workshops.

Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Westerhoff | Fraunhofer Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildverarbeitung (IOSB) 

Thomas Westerhoff is head of the "Smart UV Systems" working group at the Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Processing (IOSB) at the Ilmenau/Thuringia site. Together with partners from the industry, this group develops semiconductor-based solutions for air, water and surface disinfection. Its research also focuses on municipal water management, the technical optimization of drinking water production, treatment and distribution, and wastewater treatment. In the consortium "Advanced UV for Life" he coordinated the working field "Water". In this field of work, basic research on the use of UV-LEDs in water disinfection was carried out and LED-based water disinfection reactors were developed.  In addition to his work in research and development, he also participates in standardization bodies such as the DIN committee "Optical Radiation". 

Dr. Olaf Brodersen | CiS Forschungsinstitut für Mikrosensorik

Dr. Olaf Brodersen is senior head of the Micro-Opto-Electromechanical Systems (MOEMS) business unit at the CiS Research Institute for Microsensors in Erfurt. His competences are in the field of packaging and interconnection technology, semiconductor development as well as customer and application specific system solutions. In the consortium "Advanced UV for Life" he coordinates the work field "Modules & Measurement" and thus works at the central interface between the development of semiconductors and the actual applications. Under his leadership, emitter and receiver modules and the technologies required for their assembly are developed.